International Scientific Conference "Archeology of the Arctic"
November 19-23, 2017

Section “Cultural, religious and natural heritage” in the National Arctic Atlas.

P.V. Boyarsky, A.I. Elchaninov, I, B. Baryshev,

S.V. Gusev, A.N. Kuliev, A. A. Paramonova

Russian Scientific Resarch Institute for Cultural and Natural Heritage named after D.S. Likhachev, Moscow





The National Arctic Atlas has 22 sections. The Heritage section is quite modest - only 20 pages out of the total 496 A3 pages.

Historical and cultural heritage sites in the Arctic provide a vivid and convincing evidence of the Arctic lands development and study priority in the Russian national agenda. The main work for revealing and investigation the majority part objects of the cultural Heritage on the islands, archipelagos and part of the Arctic sea-coast were executed in 1986-2016 years by Artic Marine Expedition (IMAE) of the Heritage Institute and Fund of the Polar Investigations.

All maps have been made by the Cartography and Geoinformatic Systems Center and the Integrated Arctic Marine Expedition (IMAE) of the Heritage Institute.

The following maps have been included in the Heritage section:

1) The Kola peninsula. White Sea. 2) The Solovetsky Islands. 3) The Nenets Autonomous Okrug. Vorkuta municipality. (The Komi Republic). The Kolguev island. 4) Franz Josef Land. 5) Novaya Zemlya. 6) The Vaigach island. 7) The Yamal-Nenets Autonomous Okrug. The Bely island. 8) North of the Krasnoyarsk Krai. he Taimyr Peninsula. 9) The Kara Sea islands. Severnaya Zemlya. 10) Northern part of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia). The New Siberian Islands. 11) The Chukotka Autonomous Okrug. The Chukot Peninsula. 12) The Wrangel Island.

The map keys are used to mark the following elements: archaeological heritage (camp sites, settlements, hillforts, burial sites, rock-art sites, labyrinths and stone layouts, groups sites and archaeological complexes);  harvesting activities heritage sites (settlements, camp sites, trading stations, fishing grounds, Sami slab-lined pits); the Northern Sea Route outposts (settlements, ports, lighthouses and clearing marks, airfields);  monumental art sites (sites, monuments, sculptural compositions), historical sites (of World War I of 1914-1918, the Civil War of 1918-1922, the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945), historical sites associated with the pioneers of the Arctic development and research in the 16h - 20th centuries (fortresses, stations, winter quarters, expedition camps, settlements, polar research and hydro-meteorological stations); marine infrastructure facilities (cairns, lighthouses and clearing marks, ports, piers, docks); science and engineering heritage objects (mines, shafts, gangways, facilities associated with the Russian nuclear project); underwater heritage objects (ship wreck memorial places of World War II of 1941-1945, places of memorial ceremonies on wreck sites); architectural heritage sites (residential, public and administrative buildings); religious heritage (burials, common graves of 1941-1945 World war period,  memorial crosses, tokens,  seitas, sacred places, sacrificial places, churches, monasteries, sketes, town churches); specially protected natural territories (state nature reserves, national parks, nature parks, state wildlife sanctuaries, nature monuments, dendrological parks, future and planned SPNTs, rare and protected nature objects), as well as museums with expositions on the history of research and development of the Arctic.

It should be noted that the Russian Arctic has three UNESCO World Heritage list sites: the Solovetsky Archipelago complex - the cultural heritage site; the Putorana Plateau and the Wrangel Island State Reserve - natural heritage sites. The legend's color indicates the time of the object's construction. All maps are accompanied with text and photo illustrations.

The work has been performed for AO "Roskartographia".

Electronic versions of printed documents